Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training

What is the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (CET) about?

New CTLLS Course

This Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (Teacher Training) course is made up of six units. Unit 1 focuses on roles and responsibilities. Unit 2 focus on planning and meeting the needs of learners. Unit 3 focuses on delivering education and training. Unit 4 is about assessing learners. Unit 5 is about using resources. Unit 6 is about inclusive practice.

The qualification has replaced the old CTLLS qualification. And is aimed at those who work at associate role.

Entry requirements for this Certificate in Education?

This course is open to anyone who has access to a minimum 30 teaching hours. You will need to have the ability to work at least level 3 literacy and level 2 numeracy.

You are also expected to have access to the world wide web, word processor and be willing to work hard to achieve the qualification. You are required to commit some time to participate in course activities and complete tasks.

What does the course involve for this new CTLLS Qualification?

In order to complete and achieve the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training you need to have an understanding of roles, responsibilities in teaching. You will need to have knowledge and demonstrate inclusive practice, how to plan, meeting needs, assess, deliver, use resources. You will need to be observed a minimum total 3 hours. Each observation will need to be spaced out and should be a minimum 30 minutes in length. In other words, candidate who teach lessons over an hour will only need three observations while those that teach a minimum half an hour will need six.

Course Units for this CET Course

The Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (CET) course has a similar structure as the predecessor CTLLS qualification. The credits and guided learning hours remain the same. You are expected to achieve 21 credits at Level 4 towards the minimum 36 credits. To be successfully awarded the qualification you have to complete the following units:

Unit 1: Understanding roles, responsibilities and relationships in education and training
Unit 2: Planning to meet the needs of learners in education and training
Unit 3: Delivering education and training
Unit 4: Assessing learners in education and training
Unit 5: Using resources for education and training
Unit 6: Inclusive Practice

If you are a holder of the Level 3 or 4 Preparing to Teach in the lifelong Sector (PTLLS) or the Level 3 Award in Education and Training you will be exempted from completing Unit 1.

Course Delivery and Assessments for this CET Training

The Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training is delivered mainly by distance learning (online) and blended. Assessors can observe you in person (if possible). The course duration is 10 to 20 weeks.

All candidates will be allocated an assessor who will also be their primary contact. You will be expected to actively participate in tutorials. Assessments will include completing short questions, professional discussions, observation of work products (lesson plans and schemes of work etc). You will also need to be observed.

This course requires you to demonstrate occupational competency. Observations, expert witness reports or work products will be required to prove some of your activities or actions. Observations can be in person, video or remotely. Where observations are not possible it is possible to relay on expert witnesses who are occupationally competent (managers, supervisors, mentors etc).

Upon successful completion of the course, your work will undergo both internal and external quality assurance. We will claim your certificate from the awarding body. Certificates are normally issued within 14 days after successful external quality assurance.